## Greater Lansing Area Horseshoe Club Fall Business Meeting and Awards Banquet September 17, 2019

Meeting held at Buddies Grill in Holt Michigan

Meeting called to order at 7:20 p.m. By President Randall Kamm. 16 members attended to make a quorum. Three guests also attended.

**Secretary Report** — Becky Sullivan read the minutes from the 2018 fall meeting. She had nothing further to report.

**Treasurers Report** — Treasurer Dewey Howard and President Randall Kamm distributed the financial report which showed profit/loss from the beginning of the year to meeting date. Dewey reported on the club assets and totals in the bank account.

**President's Announcements** — President Randall Kamm congratulated Bill and Liz Schaner for attending all 16 weeks of league play plus the final club championship tournament. Perfect attendance.

President Kamm also talked about the need to change website hosts because the costs of the present host are rising. Also a new website will be built when the new host is selected.

All members of the club in 2020 will have a choice of renewing their cards either by mail or online through the eshoe portal of the NHPA website. President Kamm also said that he would no longer be accepting applications for renewals or new members. All members will need to mail their applications or use the eshoe portal.

President Kamm thanked Dewey Howard for cleaning and power washing 12 of the courts. He also painted the platform and foul lines on 12 courts all by himself. What a worker!

Lansing sent a team to Lake Orion to pitch in the Woody Cup Challenge which is a charity tournament to benefit St. Jude Hospital. The team was Randall Kamm – Captain, Keith Schafer, Tina Schafer, Becky Sullivan, Jon Birdsall and John Stephenson. Lansing won the trophy and will defend it next year. The next Woody Cup Challenge will be held in Lansing on September 12, 2020. We invite all club members to think about joining our team next year.

#### Old Business - none

#### **New Business**

**Selection of Site Director** – Jon Birdsall volunteered to become site director for 2020. Jon and President Randall Kamm will work together on maintenance of the courts.

**Selection of Tournament Director for 2020 and beyond** – There were no volunteers. Randall Kamm and Tina Schafer will continue as tournament directors for 2020.

# Election of Officers - Officer positions up for election are: President, Vice President, Recording Secretary, Treasurer, Statistician.

Officers will serve from January 1, 2020 until December 31, 2021.

**President**: Randall Kamm was nominated by Dewey Howard, seconded by Clayt Robinson. No other nominations. Randall Kamm elected by acclamation.

**Vice President:** Clayt Robinson was nominated by Becky Sullivan, seconded by Tina Schafer. No other nominations. Clayt accepted and was elected by acclamation.

**Recording Secretary:** Liz Schaner was nominated by Dewey Howard, seconded by Becky Sullivan. Becky Sullivan nominated by Larry Hinton, seconded by Tina Schafer. Liz Schaner won the election by majority vote.

**Treasurer:** Dewey Howard nominated by Keith Schafer, seconded by Becky Sullivan. No other nominations. Dewey Howard accepted and was elected by acclamation.

**Statistician:** Randall Kamm nominated by Randy Shepard, seconded by Bill Schaner. No other nominations. Randall accepted was elected by acclamation.

### **Presentation of Awards**

**Rookie Awards** were given to Drew Bergstrom, Jon Birdsall, Jeff Dole, Kathy Dole and Janis Nash for participation in their first year of league play.

Liz Schaner won the **Sportsmanship Award (women's division)**Bill Schaner won the **Sportsmanship Award (men's division)** 

10% Game Patches were given to Drew Bergstrom, Jon Birdsall, Jeff Dole, Kathy Dole, Janis Nash.

**50% Game Patch** was given to Randy Shepard

70% Game Patch was given to Bob Peek

**Most Improved Award** was given to Clay Robinson who showed a 14.4% improvement.

Women's Class Champion trophy and patch was given to Tina Schafer for pitching 468 points. Men's Class Champion trophy and patch was given to Clayt Robinson for pitching 483 points. Elder's Class Champion trophy and patch was given to Lawrence Hinton for pitching 470 points.

High Average trophy and patch was given to Bob Peek with an average of 83 actual points per game.

**High Game** trophy and patch was given to Randy Shepard for pitching 139 points with handicap.

**High Game Over Average** trophy and patch was given to Randy Shepard for pitching 28 points and 25.25% over his average.

League Champion trophy and patch was given to Becky Sullivan who won the most games at 37.

Traveling Plaque / Club City Champion was awarded to Lawrence Hinton for pitching 525 points.

No Further Business

Adjournment - Bob Peek moved to adjourn. Tina Schafer seconded. Meeting adjourned at 8:24 p.m.

**Submitted By:** 

**Becky Sullivan – Recording Secretary**